Character Chat #1-All Hail the Prince

The moon was shining brightly into my office, when the door swung open. I jumped, as I looked up and caught the outline of a man in the doorway. I heard a low chuckle, as the man walked into the office. “Jumpy, are we?” He asked as he invited himself to sit on one of the chairs.

The man who had entered my office was at least 6 feet tall, with short, messy hair (you know, the kind women love to run their fingers through. He stuck his hands inside the pockets of his leather jacket, and looked at me with bright, sky blue eyes. His skin was pale and flawless, and he flashed me an award winning smile.

I rolled my eyes at his snark remark. “I was lost in thought, Damien,” I explained as I closed my laptop. “What can I help you with?”

“I was just driving through the neighborhood, and thought that I would see what was going on in writingland, ” he replied.

“Thing are going pretty well,” I replied. “But, I wasn’t writing,” I added as my cheeks turned every shade of red possible.

Damien raised an eyebrow in curiosity. “Oh?” He asked. “What were you doing then, if you don’t mind me asking?”

The room fell into a thick silence as my heart pounded against my chest. “I um…I was watching New Moon,” I replied as the words seemed to get caught in my throat.

I jumped again, as Damien broke out into a roaring fit of laughter at my confession.
“That stupid, movie with those sparkling wanna-be vampires?” He asked.

“Yeah…,” I replied shamefully. “That’s the one.”

“Why on earth would you watch that piece of crap?” He asked incredulously.

“I needed some inspiration, Damien,” I replied as I crossed my arms defensively.

“So, you’re hoping to get it from an awful movie that has really bad acting?”

“Shut up,” I snapped.

“Look, if you want inspiration, there are plenty of other things that you could do.  But, watching Twilight, of all movies, is just going to turn your brain to mush.  I am a real vampire,” Damien said angrily and flashed his fangs.  “See these?  Does your precious Edward Cullen have fangs?”

The room seemed to become very hot, and sweat began to form on my brow as I sank into my chair.  “N-no…he doesn’t.”

“Then why would you…?”  I was becoming so agitated by this point that I snapped at Damien.  “I WAS BORED, DAMIEN! OK?  I WAS BORED,” I shouted as I threw my hands up in frustration.  “You weren’t around to tell me what to write.  I had to do something,” I hissed.

“Whoa, easy there Beth,” he said as he put his hands up as if to surrender.  “I was just messing with you.  I am here now, aren’t I?  So, let’s get to work now, shall we?  We have a book to finish.”

I nodded, and sat up in my chair as I flipped open my laptop.  Damien pulled up his chair next to me, and we got to work.

There you have it folks.  That wraps up this weeks Character Chat.  Comments are greatly appreciated, and please feel free to participate, but please make sure that you comment here and let me know that you are so that I can read your post!  Have fun!  Feedback is greatly appreciated.

9 thoughts on “Character Chat #1-All Hail the Prince

  1. LOL! Love this, Beth! Of course, I’d jump out of my skin, too, if Damien suddenly burst into my office (and then melt on the spot). This is great! A great idea!

  2. LOL! @Erin! Do you have any idea how hard it was for me *not* to melt when I thought of him? LOL.

    @Rachael Awe! Thanks Girl 🙂

    I hope you ladies will play along, and will be sure to post your links on the Character Chat page so that I can see what you come up with 🙂 I had a lot of fun writing it.

  3. @Stacie 🙂 Thanks Stacie! Glad you enjoyed it! this is a weekly meme that I will be hosting for as long as people stay interested. It may not be Damien that I talk to every week, but, ya never know 🙂 I hope you and others will participate and let me read your work when/if you do write a post for Character Chat.

  4. Hey Beth, I just got idea from your idea. What if I interview your character and you interview mine? Don’t know how good of an interviewer I am, but I know I’m a great interviewee. If you’re umcomfortable with it, that’s ok, it’s just a suggestion.

Leave a Reply

