Tell Me Something Tuesday

Tell Me Something Tuesday, is a weekly meme hosted by the lovely Cambria Hebert.  This is a really fun meme, and anyone can join!  Just go Cambria’s Blog, and post your link, and read and comment on some other posts.  OK, enough babbling from me! LOL. Time for the actual post.

This weeks question is: out of everything you have read who is your favorite villian you loved to hate?

I’ll have to admit, it took me a while to come up with some good answers.  However, after sleeping on it, I’ve come up with a few.

LORD VOLDEMORT from the Harry Potter series by JK Rowling.  Lord Voldemort is one of my favorite villains of all time.  Why? Because he is truly evil and manipulative.  He has this way about him, where you feel like you can’t say “no” to this man without the fear of being tortured or killed looming over you.  Plus, that whole “his name being a taboo” thing?  GENIUS!  Even though Lord Voldemort is just a fiction character, every time I say the name, I have a habit of looking over my shoulder to make sure that he isn’t there.

BELLATRIX LESTRANGE, also from the Harry Potter series was another one of my favorite villains.  I thought that Helena did a fabulous job at portraying Bellatrix.  She made Bella’s character come to life, and made you believe that she was truly evil.  If you ask me, I think she makes a better villain than Lord Voldemort.

Let’s step away from Harry Potter for a moment, and explore three other series, shall we?

Let’s talk about the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead.  First of all, this is MY ABSOLUTE FAVORITE vampire series EVER.  Yes, it trumps House of Night.  My favorite villain in the Vampire Academy series is Natasha, who appears randomly throughout the entire series.  I don’t want to say much more, other than the fact that she was a fantastic, behind the scenes kind of villain.  *spoiler alert* Dimitri Belikov also made a heck of a villain when he was turned into a strigoi in (and correct me if I’m wrong) Blood Promise I think it was.

Now, onto her spin off series called BLOODLINES.  I’m not quite finished with this book yet, but I have about another chapter or 2 left of it, and WOW.  I knew that Keith was evil, but I had no idea just how evil he really was.  Not only is he a condescending jerk, but an even better villain than Natasha to some degree.  I will admit, just as it took me a few chapters to get into the first Vampire Academy book, it took me a while to get into this first book in the Bloodlines series.  I had to put it down for a while, but I am glad that I picked it up and gave it another go.  I am anxiously waiting for the next book in the spin off series which is called The Golden Lily.

And last, but certainly not least, is Hades from Disney’s HERCULES.  He was absolutely evil, but his snarky comments and sidekicks are what made him a great villain.  I love Greek Mythology, and I will admit I kind of got the idea of my version of Hades from Disney, but hey, what can I say?  He is a brilliant villain.  I give him “two thumbs way, way up!” LOL

So, there you have it folks! My list of favorite villains 🙂 Please play along, and be sure to visit Cambria’s blog to let her know you’re participating!  Comments are welcome and appreciated 🙂

7 thoughts on “Tell Me Something Tuesday

  1. Hmm looks like someone borrowed from my list! I like Hercules he was great. I need to watch that one again. Bellatrix was just awful too. Natausha I wouldn’t have thought of her but she is the sneaky catch you off guard type. Also any strigoi I will pass.

  2. What great responses! I am not surprised at all to see the villians from Harry Potter on some blogs today! What great villians they are! Thank you so much for being part of the Meme!!! I like the banner you created!!! Your blog is shaping up really great!!!

  3. I really am going to have to give Vampire Academy another chance. I stopped after the first book. I guess I just wasn’t totally hooked like I was with House of Night. Although I have to say I have not finished the House of Night Series. I guess when I had to wait so long for one of the books I got out of the mood. As far as Villians. Kalona if that’s how it is spelled is one nasty, sexy villain 🙂

  4. @Stacie You should definitely give Vampire Academy another chance. The series only gets better. The House of Night is a good series, but a little strange I’ll admit. HOWEVER, I have been granted permission to interview one of the authors of the House of Night, Kristin Cast for Literary Lunes Magazine.

    @Jeyna lol I think Voldy is everyone’s favorite lol Thanks for commenting 🙂

    @Cambria LOL! I know right? But that is because Voldy is one badass villain.

Leave a Reply

