Chronicles of a Fractured Life- Alyssa Reyans Guest Post


I am very excited to have on my blog today, a new friend and author, Alyssa Reyans.  I will be perfectly honest, I haven’t read her book yet, but, it is on my to be read & review list (which is a mile long btw).  Anyway, Alyssa is here to tell us a little bit about herself, and her books.  AND, she is also doing a GIVEAWAY! So, sit back, relax, and enjoy her post!

 

I’d like to thank Beth for having me here today. It’s been a whirlwind week. Less than 72 hours ago, I was sitting at home just a random web surfer, and here I am today promoting my first book in my memoir series. It’s something I never imagined I’d be doing. I’d never considered myself a writer. It was never my dream to be a “writer”. I’ve always been more of a word doodler. I just doodled the stories that happen in my life. Sometimes we write the stories and sometimes the stories write us. Although, It seems my story is still being written, and I’m enjoying reading it as it unfolds. I’m as much a spectator as a player, and I think that’s the way life should be lived. I don’t know how the story will end, but I’m pretty happy with the way it’s going so far. I mean after all I’m here getting to meet you all which is something I never imagined I’d be doing. Even though I spent a lot of time reading about how to write my book, the best advice I ever got was from a writer friend who told me to stop trying to make my words stand up. Instead I should just sit at the table with my spoon ready to gobble them up as they come marching by. She was right. Once I stopped trying to grab the words, they started coming to me faster than I could scoop them  up with my spoon. If you’re at that place where you’re not sure what to do or where the story should go or you seem to run out of words, then don’t worry. Just grab a spoon and sit back. Before you know you’ll have a big heaping bowl of alphabet soup and a great book to read while you eat it.

Thanks again to Beth for having me. I’ll be giving away free copies of the second installment of my memoir Chronicles of A Fractured Life to all of those on my mailing list so make sure you sign up to get your free copy. The first in the series, Letters of A Bipolar Mother, was just released. It details my battle with mental illness and how I lost my children due to it. It’s currently available on Amazon.

 

2 thoughts on “Chronicles of a Fractured Life- Alyssa Reyans Guest Post

  1. Pingback: Musings and Bam-Bams | | Alyssa ReyansAlyssa Reyans

Leave a Reply

