Interview with author Stephen Prosapio of Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum

Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum

Interview with Stephen Prosapio

Hello everyone!  I am pleased and privileged to host Stephen not only once, but TWICE on his blog tour for his book, Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum.  Back in January, he visited my other blog, Literary Lunes Publications, where he talked about his favorite author, Stephen King. Today, I was graced with an interview by the talented author himself.  For those of you wondering how we know each other, we share the same publisher, Otherworld Publications, and we share an interest for the paranormal (which is probably why we get along so well lol). 

I am also very excited to announce that he is also hosting a GIVEAWAY! Yup! That’s right!  Down at the end of this interview, is a rafflecopter that you can fill out, and a winner will be drawn over the weekend on President’s Day.  You can enter as many times as you want, for the stakes are pretty high!

1)      Please describe Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum in 140 characters (Twitter style!)

A television ghost hunter—who is himself possessed—investigates an asylum and uncovers as many dangerous secrets as he does spirits.

2)      Have you always been into ghost stories?

I certainly was attracted to them at a pretty young age. I guess Legend of Sleepy Hollow was an early favorite of mine. I loved mysteries before they were really popular (Encyclopedia Brown, The Hardy Boys) and of course we can’t underestimate the effect Scooby Doo had on our generation!

3)      How long did it take you to write Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum?

It’s hard to believe now because all my other projects have taken so much longer, but I wrote the first draft of GHOSTS OF ROSEWOOD ASYLUM in about 3 months. Editing took a few more. I ran it by beta readers and my agent and refined it. The whole process took about 7 or 8 months. This one flowed amazingly well.

4)      What is your favorite color? Red

5)      What is your favorite holiday and why? Thanksgiving. It used to be for the food, but I try a day at a time to maintain a healthy relationship with that substance. Now I just love a day built entirely around giving thanks…being grateful. Typically I try to get out early for a walk or a jog and spend the whole time thanking God for every person/event/thing in my life over the past year and beyond. It sets the tone for an amazing day. And it doesn’t hurt that it’s also a day with a lot of football.

6)      What is your favorite TV show and why? Past: Cheers as a comedy and Sopranos as a tragedy. Currently:  Breaking Bad. The 5th season is coming out this spring and it has the chance to be, in my opinion, the greatest television series of all time. The writing is superb. The multiple layers of conflict both internal and external are something like we’ve not seen since the days of Shakespeare. The chemistry between the two lead male characters is astounding and indescribable. Lastly, it’s a show you can’t help but wonder, in just about each episode, what you would do if put in that particular situation.

7)      What is your favorite childhood memory? I’m blessed with an incredible memory from childhood and am extremely fortunate to have many fantastic memories (some rather horrific ones as well). Narrowing it down to one is tough…I don’t think I’ve every been asked this before, so kudos to you. [long time thinking]

Here we go. It’s short. Really silly, and strangely involves all my family including both my parents who divorced when I was 12. Not really my favorite memory but the funniest one:  One night we were all watching something on TV. Back in those days it was a special event (before cable/VCRs etc). My baby sister who was about two years old at the time was experiencing some stomach problems. My mom told my dad to get a heating pad and put it on her. So he gets up and takes care of it. The rest of us (my mom, brother and other sister) go back to watching whatever program it was (likely the Wonderful World of Disney). A bit later, my mom looks over and my baby sister is sitting on my dad’s lap.

“I thought you were going to put a heating pad on her.”

“I did. She’s sitting on it.”

“Tom, not on her butt! On her stomach…”

As we all start laughing at the absurdity of him having my baby sister sit on a heating pad, he hits us with the Coup de grace:  “But she’s passing gas…”

Maybe you had to be there. The big best memory I have has to be going up to northernWisconsinto my great aunt’s lake house with my grandpa. He was a really sweet and great grandpa and I got him all to myself for a whole week of fishing and boating and eating cookies.

8)      Do you have any advice for your fans and aspiring writers?  For my fans:  1. Shut the heck up and just keep buying my books! 2. Keep giving my books out to all your friends, family, people you meet on busses, in bars or under the stars….okay okay. I guess that’s too much. Just keep reading my work. If you enjoy it, please help spread the word. It’s tough sleddin’ out there right now for aspiring authors.

For other writers:  1. Have realistic expectations. Your chances of being the next Stephanie Meyers or Dan Brown are about the same as hitting the lottery…regardless of how well you write. 2. Be prepared to put in 10 years of honing your craft. Especially if you’re writing fiction, you’ll need to craft openings that are better than most books you read. You need awesome character development. You’ll need to master pacing, plotting, word choice. Learn and conquer your writing shortfalls (and you will have them). Learn to incorporate feedback (and you will need it!), and be a master of rewrites. If you do all that and are also prepared to deal with relative obscurity as you figure out how to market yourself and have others market you, then you are prepared to be a writer. May all your reviews be 5-stars!

Thanks for having me, Beth Ann!

THE GIVEAWAY:

Stephen was nice enough to offer a giveaway in addition to this wonderful interview.  He is offering: an ebook copy of Ghosts of Rosewood Asylum, a bookmark, and a signed copy of the book cover to one lucky winner.  How sweet is that?  To enter, simply follow the instructions on the rafflecopter.  If you have any issues, please let me know, and I will gladly go ahead and automatically add you, but I will need proof that you did as the copter asked. It’s only fair after all.

My website:  www.prosapio.com

The XPI website:  www.xavierparanormal.com

Facebook:  http://www.facebook.com/stephenprosapio

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/#!/stephenprosapio

YouTube:  http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qcgJVhX3puY


/*{literal}{/literal}*/
a Rafflecopter giveaway
You need javascript enabled to see this giveaway.

Leave a Reply

