Book & Movie review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians (The Lightning Thief)

So, I’ve decided that I am going to start reviewing books that I’ve already read, and haven’t reviewed yet.  I’d like your input at the end of the posts, ESPECIALLY if you’ve read the book or have watched the movies (if said book I am reviewing has already been turned into a movie.)  Without further adieu, I give you my first review on this blog!

Title: Percy Jackson and the Olympians (The Lightning Thief)

Author: Rick Riordan

Publisher: Miramax

My rating: 4 stars

My Review:  This was a wickedly great book in my personal opinion.  I love books that have to do with Greek Mythology, and this was right up my alley.  I unfortunately, however, watched the movie version before I read the book.  BUT, once I sat down to read the actual book, I fell in love with it.  The movie made so much more sense after I read it.  Rick Riordan’s characters come to life in this action packed book. Would I read the rest of the series? Of course! Would I read it over & over again? Probably not.  At least, not until I’ve read every other book on my selves first.  Don’t get me wrong, it was a really well written book, and it held my attention from start to finish. BUT, I have to be honest…I didn’t really care all that much about Percy Jackson.  I enjoyed reading more about the evil, underlying plot behind it.  Now, it could have had something to do with the fact that I made the mistake of watching the movie BEFORE reading the book, but something tells me no, that isn’t the case.  All in all, if you’re a mythology buff, I’d recommend the book. It’s a fast-paced, easy YA read that will leave you wanting to know more.  There is a lot of action and adventure, and I would totally recommend it.

Book Vs. Movie

My rating: 3 stars

The movie did not do the book justice.  In fact, in my personal opinion, the movie down right stunk. Yes, there was action, and a decent storyline, but unless you’ve read the book, and know anything about Greek Mythology and the gods, you will probably be lost.  BUT, if you’re already a fan of Rick Riordan, and are looking for a good time waster, then you will probably enjoy watching the movie.  The three stars mostly go towards all the action and special effects.  The acting was decent, but like I said, the storyline butchered the book in my opinion.

 

 

One thought on “Book & Movie review: Percy Jackson and the Olympians (The Lightning Thief)

  1. I totally agree. I loved reading ths book. I haven’t seen the movie, probably because I’ve heard so many bad things about it. I have read the whole series., though, and I have to say it was indeed wickedly cool! I know you love Harry Potter, so I know you’ll love the rest of these books, especially, the last one. I think there are 5 total, so 4 to go, and I recommend you read them.

Leave a Reply

