Review: Season Finale of Pretty Little Liars


To be perfectly honest, this show didn’t appeal to me at first.  When I saw the initial coming attractions for the first season, it didn’t look like something that I would enjoy. Boy, was I wrong!  About midway through the first season, I caught one of ABC Family’s Pretty Little Liars marathons.  I was bored out of my mind one day, and said, why the hell not? What have I got to lose? So, I watched an episode, and before long, it was 8PM at night! (I had started watching sometime late afternoon).  This show has EVERYTHING you need to make a great series; action, adventure, mystery, forbidden romance.  It’s honestly one of the BEST non-vampire/non mythological shows out there on television in my personal opinion.

The plot revolves around four main characters; Aria, Emily, Spencer, and Hannah and the death of their friend, Alison.  Alison’s death was so sudden, that these four girls take it upon themselves to find out the real truth behind it.  This is where it gets interesting.  Right after Alison’s funeral, these four girls receive a mysterious text message from someone named “A.”  This “A” person sends them threatening text messages throughout the series, and has the guts in season two, to get the parents involved.  A has the uncanny ability to seem to know too much personal information about these girls’ lives and is hell-bent on ruining them.  A is the ultimate bully if you ask me.

Last night, was the season finale of season 2 where A was revealed. Only, it wasn’t who I expected it to be.  I don’t want to reveal too much for those of you who haven’t had a chance to see last night’s episode and want to, but I will tell you this…IT WILL THROW YOU FOR A LOOP!  There were elements of the show that reminded me a little bit too much like Alfred Hitchcock’s movie “Psycho.”  You know, with the whole creepy “Resort Motel” and the creepy guy and all the birds in his office. They even show a shower scene with Spencer and a shadow figure (that plays an important part throughout the show btw), giving you the idea that something could happen.  I am not going to reveal to you if anything does or not for spoiler alert reasons.  But…OMG!  It had me on the edge of my seat and saying “WTF?” at the end of the show.

*SPOILER ALERT*

One thing that’s certain: A is not working alone.  There is definitely a ring master, and she (or he) has puppets tied tight on a string and doing their dirty work for them. I am still convinced that Melissa, Spencer’s step sister, is the Puppet Master.

So, this leaves me to ask you this? Are you on Team A? Or, are you on Team Sparia? (Those who watched last night’s episode will get that reference). I’m personally on Team Sparia.

I give this series 5 stars hands down!

Leave a Reply

