Movie Review: Breaking Dawn Part 1

Title: Breaking Dawn: Part 1

Rating: PG-13

Producer: Summit

Review Rating: 1 star

The review

Let me start off by saying that I HATE writing negative reviews.  Being a professional writer, I know they hurt, but, they are a necessary evil. Now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, let me continue on with my review.

I used to be a Twilighter.  Yes, yes I know you’re shocked aren’t you?  I admit that at one point I got caught up in the Twilight saga love triangle when it first came out. Heck, for years I used to role play as Edward Cullen on Myspace, and it was fun. However, as I began writing my own novels, I came back down to reality, and realized just how horrible the series really was.  Stephenie Meyer became the reason why I write about vampires and shifters to begin with…I wanted to prove to the world that VAMPIRES DO NOT SPARKLE.

Anyway, back to my review of Breaking Dawn Part 1. I knew that there was a reason why I didn’t wait online at midnight for this movie.  There was also a reason why I didn’t rush to buy it when it first came out on DVD.  It was entertainingly horrid! (Thank you, Makalia for those choice of words!).  Now, I’ll admit, I cried in the beginning during the wedding scene. HOWEVER, it was also due to the fact that I kept picturing myself in Bella’s shoes and Kevin (my fiance) in Edward’s.  I kept telling myself, “This is NOT how a wedding should be.”  In my personal opinion, the scenery was ugly, and Alice did a craptacular job at planning.  Now, it’s not the actresses fault at all. No, it was the screen writer’s fault for doing such an awful job with writing the script.  You would think that a wedding was supposed to be beautiful, but that wasn’t the case here.

The acting in Breaking Dawn Part 1 was mediocre, if not totally wretched.  There were a couple of believable scenes in the movie, but they were few and far between.  It was slow going, and there honestly wasn’t enough action.  I personally think that Summit Entertainment could have gotten away with making Breaking Dawn into one part.

The movie’s saving grace? The wolves.  They were the truest to their parts, and I actually found myself cheering when Sam had his claws up against Edward’s throat.  I remember saying out loud, “kill him! Kill the leech!” The thing that pissed me off about the wolves? The writers left out that Jacob goes off in search to find his imprint.  I was honestly really looking forward to seeing that. They also didn’t properly explain the whole imprinting thing, which was a HUGE mistake on their end. They snuck it in the movie at the tail end without really explaining what the big deal is. I don’t know about you guys, but I was left asking, “wtf?” If I hadn’t read the books, I would have been totally lost.

And, honestly, even the honeymoon scenes were VERY disappointing. Yes, there was sex, but honestly, I expected Bella to have a hell of a lot more bruises on her then she did.  I was truly disappointed overall.  So much so, I can’t even comment on it properly.

Over all? I thought this movie was absolutely painstakingly awful.  It was a waste of time and money. Don’t get me wrong; I know that it impossible to totally go by the books with any movie, BUT, they did an AWFUL job with transcribing it into screenplay format.  If you’re looking for a time killer, then by all means pick up a copy and see for yourself just how horrible this movie is. BUT, if you are looking for a great action/romance/thriller movie, don’t waist your time or money with this one.

There you have it folks…my review.

2 thoughts on “Movie Review: Breaking Dawn Part 1

  1. I agree that the wolves were the saving grace of the movie and that there definitely wasn’t enough action to satisfy me considering everything that happens in the book (and it’s been 2-3 years since I last read the book). I also expected Bella to be severely bruised, though maybe they felt that would send the wrong message to all the teens and pre-teens watching the movie (though again, if they’ve read the book they know what to expect). When I saw the movie in the theatre, I walked out wondering just what exactly they have left to put into a “part 2”. And the most disappointing part of the wedding scene for me wasn’t the scenery (which I actually found pretty), but was that Bella didn’t even smile, instead looking like she was going to her death instead of it being the happiest day of her life. (though I did like the nightmare)

    I would give this movie one more star than you have simply because even leaving off where they did, there was still a lot to be covered in a 2-hour movie. Overall, the movie sucked and the screenplay should have been written differently (the explanation of the imprint should have been in one of the previous movies, not this one), but I did get some enjoyment out of it when I saw it in theatres (twice).

    Another reason they could have left out all the action in part 1 could be they’re saving it all for part 2. Like with HP & tDH, I felt part 1 was MUCH slower than it needed to be and while there was some action in it (yes, more than BD), I understood why it had to be that way because there was SO MUCH MORE left to happen in part 2. Twilight in kinda the same way. There’s a huge battle coming at the end (sorry for the spoiler those few of you who haven’t read the book) plus they need to gather all the vamps and wolves together and Bella still has her super power to hone (which is another rant altogether), and of course Aro has his 10-page speech to take up half an hour of our lives we will never get back.

    Rant over. Anyone else have an opinion?

Leave a Reply

