Masquerade Read-along Week #2

Welcome to the second week of the Masquerade Read-Along, a book by the lovely and talented Cambria Hebert.  For the official rules, guidelines, and tour schedule, please click the picture above, or visit Cambria’s website at http://www.cambriahebert.com.  Now, let me tell you a little bit about the book Masquerade for those of you who missed last weeks post, my answers can be found by clicking here.

About Masquerade (taken from Goodreads)

Before. Everything was so much better Before. I wasn’t haunted by nightmares, my place at school was secure and my face was flawless. Now, I’m a freak and everything has changed. The worst part is that I can’t remember the night I was sentenced to the shadows. The memory has been stolen from me and I just can’t shake the feeling that someone, something is out there -watching. 

Just when I think I have my life handled, Sam, with his intimidating golden stare and shiver inducing voice, makes me realize that I don’t know anything. He makes me see that my scars don’t matter. That they never mattered. I can’t help but fall for him, completely unknowing that he knows exactly how I got this way. Not knowing he was involved. 

*** 

Heven has no idea how closely death stalks her. She has no idea what I have done to keep her alive. I fear the day she learns my secrets, finds out what I really am. But even then I cannot stop, I vow to make things right. Finally her hunter will be hunted, Heaven and Hell, faith and sin will battle, and we will be victorious. But first, Heven must learn to be what she never imagined. I know her strength is there – I feel it. If we are to overcome all odds, she must push past her flaws – her frailties – to become much more.

Now, onto this week’s questions!  This week’s host is Candace, over at http://www.candacesbookblog.com/.  If you want to join in on the fun, pick up a copy of Masquerade (You won’t regret it…TRUST ME!), and hop on over to either Cambria’s site or Candace’s and link up!. Now, onto the questions.

1. Sam is admittedly drawn to Heven before they even meet. Why do think this is?

I had to give this one some thought. OK, A LOT of thought. I think that Sam is initially drawn to Heven, because of the whole soul-mate thing.  After having read the entire book in 3 days, there is definitely something that we do not know about their relationship. BUT, I honestly think that it has something to do with the power of God, and something “Great” that the Universe has in store for them. Yes, I could argue and say that Heven represents all the things that Sam had to leave behind when he first went through The Change, but I don’t think that is entirely it.  I think there is something much, much bigger out there than we are capable of seeing just yet.

2. In an earlier chapter The Hope states that Sam must prove himself. During these chapters Sam does some things – bad things – (covering up murder, fighting, hiding a body, etc.) all to protect Heven and his true identity. Do you think he was right to do these things?

When is it EVER right to cover up murder, etc?  It never, EVER is.  HOWEVER, Sam is a special and unique case.  I’m not saying that it was right, but I understand why he did what he did.  If I was in his case, I probably would have done the same thing.

3. In chapter twelve Kimber says some thing’s to Heven that make the reader wonder about their friendship. Do you think there is any truth Kimber’s drunken confessions? If so where do you think Heven and Kimber’s friendship goes from here?

OK, I’ll be perfectly honest, I wanted to toss my book at Kimber and beat the living CRAP out of her for saying that shit. She knew that Heven couldn’t swim, right? Why on earth would she even think about bringing her out to the dock? I mean, come on! HOW STUPID can one person be? Thank GOD Sam was there!  I have absolutely NO DOUBT that there was truth in Kimber’s confessions.  Alcohol consumption tends to bring out people’s true selves, especially when they are drunk/tipsy.  I can personally attest to this. I tend to be an honest drunk when I’ve had a little too much to drink. I’ve said some things that I regret, but you can’t take them back once you say them.  Knowing what I know about the book (I’m trying not to spoil anything here), I honestly think that Heven should just drop Kimber as a friend. If you ask me, I think Kimber is a selfish bitch who needs to put in her place. But, that’s just my opinion lol.

4. Heven is changing, becoming more confident. Do you think that after something like this (her accident and disfigurement) happens to someone that she can ever go back to the person she was before? Do you think she will want to?

No, and no. I personally like how Heven is changing. As the question stated, she IS becoming more confident, and I like reading about heroines that grow and change. I think in the beginning, maybe Heven will want to go back to how things were, BUT, I think Sam will help her realize that she can’t and shouldn’t.  She has a path, a dangerous path to follow, and I think going back will make things worse.

5. Toward the end of these set of chapters, Heven finds out Sam’s secret, who he really is. She has a strong reaction. Do you think you would react the same way? Why or why not?

Hmm. This is honestly a tough one.  I guess it all depends on the situation and the type of person they are.  I mean, yeah, I would probably freak out at first (who wouldn’t?), but then after coming back down to “reality”, I’d probably be all “Oh, really? You can do xyz? That’s cool.” I’d probably be a little jealous of said person’s special abilities and powers, but I’d want them as an ally (especially if it’s someone like Sam or my Damien from TWAU.). I honestly don’t think there isn’t a person out there who WOULDN’T freak out at first.

3 thoughts on “Masquerade Read-along Week #2

  1. Great answers Beth Ann!! I really enjoyed reading your post and your insights into the questions and book. I think Sam is a unique situation too and the things he did he had reasons for. 😉
    You know I always kind of thought that about Kimber too… I actually forgot about that…. Heven Can’t swim and Kimber DOES know it. So why on Earth would she bring her out there???? Hmmmm. Good point.
    Thanks for joining in this week!!
    You can view my answers and link up at my blog :
    http://cambriahebert.com/2012/04/masquerade-read-along-week-two/
    thanks!!

  2. So behind on my blog. Some great answers here. Yep I agree about Kimber she is not nice and that friemdship is down the drain. Perhaps Sam shouldn’t have covered up the murder but he didn’t have much choice. Yeah, I don’t know what i would do if I were Heven probably run. So glad you are participating in this. I will be more on the ball now that my parents left.

  3. Pingback: Masquerade Read-along week #3 |

Leave a Reply

