Tell Me Something Tuesday #4.

Welcome to another episode of Tell Me Something Tuesday, a meme hosted by Cambria Hebert.  In this meme, she asks us a question, and we tell her our answers. There is no right or wrong way to answer, so just have fun!  If you want to participate, go to Cambria’s blog and link up.

Last week I was way off in the number of TMST’s I’ve participated in. Apparently, I’ve only played in it 3 times O.o Well, that’s going to change! This is an incredibly fun meme, and it makes me think 🙂

This week, Cambria asked us:

If you could meet anyone (living or dead) who would it be and why?

Like everyone else, I had a hard time coming up with an answer to this question.  There are soooo many people that I want to meet, so I’ve narrowed it down.  Are you ready for my answer?

I chose my great, great, great uncle, President Tomas Garrigue Masaryk.  He was the first President of the Czech Republic, and was very well respected and liked.  I am honestly so proud and honored to be related to him! His brother, Martin, was my great, great, great grandfather. It took A LOT of genealogy research to find this out.  I was able to figure out my dad’s grandparents and traced back from there.  I found some family on Facebook (long live Facebook!), and connected the dots. I also joined ancestry.com and that was how I found out that Tomas had brothers.

Fun story: When my aunt Linda and I toured Prague and Moravia last September, T.G. Masaryk was talked about on every single tour we were on (or just about). It was so cool to learn about my family in that way. On one of the Jewish tours we went on, our tour guide actually bowed to us! It was seriously WEIRD!

To learn more about my AWESOME great, great, great uncle, go to this wikipedia article.

Now, enjoy some of these beautiful pictures from Prague, the city with which T.G. Masaryk ruled from!

That view was taken from the world’s largest castle in Prague.  I can’t believe he lived there at one point! (btw, the castle is listed in the Guinness book of world records.)

Another view from the same castle! Gorgeous, right?

The old President’s suite.  No one lives there any more sadly 😦 some view though, right?

The Catholic Cathedral on the castle grounds. It’s one of the only cathedrals that still holds mass.

This walk way was so small, that it needed a crossing signal LOL.

The view from the Charles Bridge.

Prague was full of statues like these. I was absolutely shocked and stunned to see them.  You wouldn’t find anything like that here in the US, would you?

the Prague Astrology clock.  This clock chimes once an hour, and there’s a little show.  I have it captured on video I think.  If I can find a good version, I will post a story about it with the video in a separate blog post.  This was the coolest thing ever!

And, Prague at night.  See that orb? I think I caught a ghost 🙂

There you have it folks, my Tell Me Something Tuesday post. I hope you enjoyed it!

One thought on “Tell Me Something Tuesday #4.

  1. What a great post! I really enjoyed the pictures from Prague. What a great family history you have!! I havent been out od the country but some day i hope to change that!

Leave a Reply

