Masquerade Read-along Week #4

Well, here it is folks…the final week in the Masquerade Read-along.  *sniff sniff*. I had A LOT of fun on this tour and reading everyone’s answers. It was nice making new blogging friends and I hope to keep in touch with some of them. Next week, Cambria will be hosting the wrap up on her blog/website http://www.cambriahebert.com.  There, she will announce the winners of the read-along.  We are playing for prizes, so be sure to stop by her website and vote for your favorite post!

1. Heven develops a new “supernatural power”. She remarks that it isn’t that exciting of a power. Is this a power you would like to have, if not what kind of supernatural power would you like to have?

Honestly, I think that aura reading would be a great power to have!  It would go along great with empathy/intuition skills in my personal opinion.

2. Which character do you think makes the biggest internal change throughout the course of this book?  Is there a situation in your life that you can reflect back on as an experience that changed your life for the better?

This was honestly a really difficult question to answer, but I think it was Heven.  She’s had so much happen to her from the scars to her mother, I’m surprised she is as stable as she is.  I love that no matter what happens, that Sam is always there for her, and so is Gran.

As for an experience in my life?  This is honestly difficult to answer.  But, after thinking about it, I would have to say meeting my ex bf, Rob.  I know what some of my friends are probably thinking….they probably think I am insane. And, maybe I am, but I have a very good reason for bringing him up.  If I hadn’t met and dated Rob, I wouldn’t know pain…true pain.  I also would never have gone through my rebellious stage and gone away from the Catholic church.  BUT, if I hadn’t gone through all of that, I might not be as close to God as I am now. It’s because of those learning experiences that I realized that I am supposed to be where I am today. I am a better, and stronger person than I used to be, and it’s all because of him. No, I don’t have any pictures of him to share, and even if I did, I don’t feel like digging them up.

Another experience/person that has shaped me to be who I am today, is my mother.  She helped me to be the strong, independent woman that I am today.  I have learning disabilities, and when I’m feeling frustrated because of them, she always knows how to make me feel better.  It doesn’t happen as often anymore, but when it does, I know that I can always count on her.  She is one of the most supportive and encouraging people that I know. She always gives so much, and is someone that I definitely admire.

Another person that has helped me become who I am today, is my best friend and my sister/partner in crime, Robin.  I’ve known this girl since high school, and we are with each other at least twice a week (sometimes more). We always go on crazy adventures (from standing outside in the pouring rain at a Jonas Brothers concert) to going into the City to meet Demi Lovato’s guitar player (who is super sweet btw!). This woman can get me to try “almost” anything at least once. I don’t know what it is about her, but she’s definitely someone that I look up to and admire.

And last, but certainly not least, the love of my life, Kevin.  Without him, I wouldn’t know what it’s like to be in love again.  He’s helped me heal, and helped me realize that I deserve to be treated with respect.  He’s a genuinely nice guy, and I couldn’t be happier!

3. Who is your favorite character and why?

My initial response was, of course, Sam, but I am sure that almost EVERYONE is going to mention him. So, MY favorite character is Gran.  Why?  Because she is so loving and accepting of not only Heven, but of Sam as well.  I love how she takes them both in with open arms, no questions asked.

4. When the book ends the reader has an idea of what the next book will involve. Do you think the book ended in the appropriate place?

I think so.  It leaves you with just enough “what if?” and “what the heck?” questions to want to know more.  I can’t wait to read more about Logan and to see what kind of a part he plays and how he will affect Sam and Heven’s relationship. I’m VERY curious to see what happens on their trip to Italy.

5. Do you have any predictions for the next book in the series, Charade?

I have several predictions, but one that I would REALLY like to see happen, is to meet Sam and Logan’s parents.  I would also honestly like to see Kimber “grow up” and realize that Heven is who she is and there is nothing she can do about it. I also want Kimber to stop being so darn selfish and jealous of her “best friend.”  I have a feeling that somehow, one of these mythological creatures is going to get to Kimber and use her jealously against her to get to Heven and this map. But, I could be totally wrong. 

6. Did you enjoy participating in this read along?  Will you join in future read alongs?

Yes!  Considering this was the first read along I’ve ever participated in, I really didn’t know what I was doing, but it was a lot of fun! I enjoyed reading other people’s answers, and was surprised to find that some people had either the same or similar answers that I have.  In terms of participating in future read alongs, it all depends on the book and if I have time to read it or not. BUT, I would definitely be up to participating in future ones 🙂

One thought on “Masquerade Read-along Week #4

  1. Great answers this week Beth Ann! Thank you for participating. Read Along’s are fun and I hope to do some more in the future as well.
    Gran is a favorite character for a lot of people and I think it is because she is so loving and accepting. i enjoyed reading your predicitons into Charade!
    Great post!

Leave a Reply

