Tipsy Friday #1

Tipsy Friday is a meme that was started by the lovely Lila from Babbling About Books and Stuff.  In this meme, we share stories and drink recipes. Now, I’m not a big drinker, so I won’t be participating in this meme every week. BUT, when I come across something good, or have a good story to share, I’ll post it. Kay?

So, last night my best friend, Robin and I went to our usual place for dinner…Pepe Rosso 24.  It’s a relatively new pizza/Italian restaurant that has some AMAZING food.  Anyway, when we go, I usually have a White Zinfandel (one of my favorite wines btw). HOWEVER, last night they had a special for home-made Sangria. They were selling it for $7.99 per glass OR $24.00 for a pitcher of wine.  So, we got the pitcher (she drank most of it. I had to drive after all.).

Before I continue with the recipe, I want to tell you a little story. Robin and I talked about our guys and how much we love them and all that girly mushy stuff lol. We reminisced about our jerky ex-boyfriends, and realized how lucky we were to have such great guys. I  am honestly so happy for her.  Matt is such a great guy and really sweet.  It’s obvious to me that he’s genuinely a nice guy (a rarity these days it seems). I have a feeling that I won’t have to worry about him hurting her any time soon :). He knows what will happen to him if he does ;).

Cheers to you both to a life filled of happiness together! I absolutely LOVE you both 🙂

Now, doesn’t this drink look yummy? (It was!)

Now for the recipe of a basic Sangria (taken from here)

Ingredients:

  • 1 Bottle of red wine (Cabernet Sauvignon, Merlot, Rioja reds, Zinfandel, Shiraz)
  • 1 Lemon cut into wedges
  • 1 Orange cut into wedges
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 1 Shot brandy
  • 2 Cups ginger ale or club soda

Preparation:

Pour wine in the pitcher and squeeze the juice wedges from the lemon and orange into the wine. Toss in the fruit wedges (leaving out seeds if possible) and add sugar and brandy. Chill overnight. Add ginger ale or club soda just before serving.If you’d like to serve right away, use chilled red wine and serve over lots of ice.

Addition ideas: sliced strawberries, peaches, handful of fresh blueberries, raspberries, kiwi, a shot or two of gin, brandy or rum, a cup of ginger ale, citrus soda.

I also have to mention just how AWESOME Robin really is.  She got me to eat fruit!  Yes, FRUIT!  She got me to try a mango.  Now, for those who don’t know me, I’m a VERY picky eater, and I RARELY (if ever) eat fruit or vegetables. I know, I know…shame on me. But, by some miracle, Robin got me to try mango!

There you have it folks! My very first Tipsy Friday post 🙂 Hope you enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

