Book Review: 50 Shades of Grey

Title: 50 Shades of Grey
Author: E.L. James
Publisher: Vintage Books

Rating: I honestly can not give a rating at this time.

Review

I’ll be perfectly honest, I had no idea what to expect when I sat down to read the first installment of the 50 Shades trilogy.  I half expected there to be vampires and werewolves, and was actually a little bit disappointed that there weren’t. I had heard that 50 Shades originally started out as a Twilight fanfiction.  What I was NOT expecting was all the sex, smut and BDSM.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I had heard that there was sex and BDSM in it.  BUT what I did not know was just how much there actually was.  It seemed to me like it was in almost every single chapter.  In my personal opinion, that’s too much sex and not enough plot. 

I like a book that has all the elements that make a great story: action, romance, and well-developed characters.  The author has to make me want to care about their characters in order for me to truly like their work.  And I hate to say it, but it wasn’t until the very end did I start to even remotely care about Christian Grey.

Anastasia Steele, the leading female, annoyed the heck out of me.  She annoyed me even more than Bella Swan from Twilight.  That whole “inner goddess” and “subconcsious” thing really got on my nerves.  My biggest issue with Ana, is that she had no real self respect for herself.  If she had, she wouldn’t have done half the things that Christian wanted her to do.  I would NEVER let a guy touch me in the ways that Christian touched Ana. I mean, she let him hit her with a freaking flogger! There is something seriously wrong with that girl!

I’ll admit, this book made me cry a couple of times, especially toward the end, which was unexpected.  However, I had an issue with E.L. James’ writing style.  She used the same descriptions over, and over, and I often felt that some of the scenes were redundant. 

I had a brief conversation with a friend about the book earlier, and I labeled it as a “trashy novel.” And honestly, I am sure that I’m not the only one who feels this way about 50 Shades.  Will I read the rest of the Trilogy? Possibly, but, truthfully, there is a better chance of me reading The Hunger Games or Hell freezing over before that happens any time soon.

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review: 50 Shades of Grey

  1. I loved the Hunger Games. I try not to limit myself when reading, I read everything! Now I had no problem w/how Chris touched Ana, she said yes, etc. But in a true D/s relationship she’d have been much better trained. It was a quick read for me (3 books 2 days). I can’t say that it was smut – the sex was so-so for me. It wasn’t vanilla and it wasn’t really D/s – it was stuck in the middle.

  2. Completely agree.. my view has changed completely since reading the first book which I have to admit I couldn’t put down. However, it is laughable when you get to the third book and this hot shot, successful, domineering man, won’t even let Ana tickle him because he was never tickled as a child or some other weak reason. It all started getting a bit too easy to laugh at!

    http://bridgetnerdyjones.wordpress.com/
    Take a look… talk about 50 shades quite a bit

Leave a Reply

