Review: Newsies on Broadway

“NEWSIES STOP THE WORLD!”

I have to say, that when I first heard that my favorite musical, Disney’s Newies was coming to broadway, I got very excited.  Naturally, with this excitement, I told my fiance I wanted to see it. So, he got me tickets, and we went in to see it together.

I have to admit, when I heard that they wrote out the original roles of Sarah (David’s sister) and Denton (the news reporter), and they replaced it with a woman named Kathrine Plumber, I got a little nervous.  I also got nervous after downloading the soundtrack from Itunes and hearing that they changed some of the lyrics to all of the songs (including my favorite, King of NY).

HOWEVER, once I got passed the initial “OMG they changed it!” freak out, and actually went, I really enjoyed it. The dancing was SPECTACULAR! There were lots of flips, twirling, and tap dancing galore!  Even Katherine Plumber held her own! 

For those of you who do not know what Newsies is all about, it is a riveting tale about how a young man named Jack Kelly goes up againt one of the wealiest men of NY…Joseph Pulitzer.  This act was the beginning of the Newsboy Strike of 1899, which began the newspaper union.  Jack is an orphan, who leads the other orphans and newsboys into a riveting rally after Joseph Pulitzer raises the price of the distribution of his own newspaper. For complete details, please visit their website at http://www.newsiesthemusical.com/cast.

I have to say, everyone performed exceptionally well, and I would rate this show 5 stars!  It’s no wonder why they were nominated for 8 tony’s!  They certainly deserve them!

Leave a Reply

