Tell Me Something Tuesday

Hello everyone, and welcome to another week of Tell Me Something Tuesday.  This is a meme that was started by my friend, Cambria Hebert.  This is the meme where she asks us a question, and we answer it.  This week’s question is:

Do you like social media? Why or why not? What is your favorite social media to use (FB, twitter, GR, etc.)?

This is a difficult question to answer.  Why? Because I love social media, but at the same time, I hate it with a passion.  Let’s start with the reasons why I HATE social media.

I hate social media (facebook, twitter, goodreads, etc), because of all the drama I see.  It is easy to get caught up in it, and it’s so easy to pick on and bully someone online.  Take it from someone who has been on the receiving end of the bullying.  It has since then long stopped (many of you know the stories and the actions that I took to stop it), but still, it is VERY easy to fall into the wrong crowd online and to let these people get to you.

HOWEVER, Social Media has a lot of positive sides to it too.  Places like Facebook, Twitter and Goodreads have helped me connect with old friends and even new readers.  I’ve even met my first publisher through an ad on facebook! So, social media is great for publicity and for networking purposes if used correctly.

Overall, social media is kind of a necessity these days especially in my line of work…writing and publishing.  I’ll admit, I’m a bit obsessed with Facebook and Twitter, though not so much goodreads (mostly due to the author & reviewer wars I’ve heard about). 

2 thoughts on “Tell Me Something Tuesday

  1. I agree the drama is better left alone, as far away as possible. However, if not for social media, we would not even know each other. So there are always good things to be said. 😀

  2. great post Beth Ann. It’s never fun to be on the receiving end of bullying and I am sorry you had to deal with that. I am glad that you got away from that though. There are definite benefits and drawbacks to social media… thanks for joining this week!

Leave a Reply

